The Nahajski Firm represents clients in Seattle, Washington and the Puget Sound area, including Bellevue, Everett, Kent, Issaquah, Mercer Island, Redmond, Kirkland, and all cities within King County, Pierce County, Skagit County, and Snohomish County.
Seattle Driving With A Suspended License Attorneys
Serving the Puget Sound area since 1996
The frustration, embarrassment and cost of losing your driver’s license can be overwhelming. If you have lost your license, or been accused of driving while suspended, The Nahajski Firm can assist you.
Call us at 206-621-0500 or contact us online for a free consultation with an attorney experienced in licensing issues and DWLS.
Administrative License Suspensions
The Washington State Department of Licensing can administratively suspend your driver’s license for a variety of reasons, including refusing a breath test, or submitting to a breath test with a result over .08; for not paying a traffic ticket or committing fraud against the Department of Licensing. These administrative suspensions are unrelated to any suspensions due to criminal convictions. With administrative suspensions, every driver is entitled to a hearing to challenge the suspension. It is essential to consult with an attorney experienced in these issues to help put you back in the driver’s seat.
License Suspensions Due to Criminal Convictions
In addition to administrative suspensions, your driver’s license will be suspended if you are convicted of driving related crimes such as DUI, Reckless Driving, Hit and Run Attended, Vehicular Homicide, Vehicular Assault or Eluding. Further, if you are convicted of any felony involving a motor vehicle you will also lose your license.
It is not widely known that if you are under the age of eighteen and convicted of Minor in Possession / Consumption of Alcohol, or if under the age of twenty and convicted of Possession of Marijuana or Drug Paraphernalia, you will also lose your driver’s license, even if a motor vehicle is not involved.
The length of a license suspension can range from 30 days up to seven years if found to be a habitual traffic offender. The consequences to your commercial driver’s license (CDL) are also drastic and will often result in losing your career.
The Department of Licensing recently started authorizing an Ignition Interlock License for those suspended due to a drunk driving conviction. (Please click here for more information on the I.I.L. ). For non-DUI convictions drivers may be able to apply for a Temporary Restricted License / Occupational Driver’s License. Contact our office to discuss what steps you need to do in order to reinstate your license.
Length of License Suspensions Due to Certain Criminal Convictions:
- DUI First offense (BAC<.15): 90 days
- DUI First Offense (BAC >.15 or refusal): 1 year
- DUI Second Offense (BAC<.15): 2 years
- DUI Second Offense (BAC>.15 or refusal): 900 days
- Reckless Driving:30 days
- Hit and Run Attended: 12 months
- Felony involving a motor vehicle: 12 months
- DWLS First or Second Degree: 12 months
What happens if I am caught driving while license suspended (“DWLS”)?
It is a crime to drive with a suspended license. There are three different degrees of DWLS: first, second and third. The difference between the three degrees is based solely on the reason you lost your license in the first place. If found guilty of any of these crimes, consequences may include jail time, probation, fines and an additional license suspension. It is essential to consult with an experienced lawyer if charged with DWLS.
Contact us online or call 206-621-0500 for a free consultation concerning any license suspension issues.